parallax background

General information

General information about Croatia

Geographical location

Croatia stretches from the extreme eastern edges of the Alps in the northwest to the Pannonian Plain and the banks of the Danube in the east. Its central part covers the Dinara mountain massif, and its southern part ends on the Adriatic coast.


The land surface area is 56,594 km2, and the area of the territorial sea is 31,067 km2.


4,437,460 inhabitants; ethnic composition: the majority of the population is Croats, while the largest minorities are Serbs, Bosniaks, Slovenes, Hungarians, Czechs, Italians, and Albanians.

State organization

Croatia is a multi-party parliamentary republic.

Capital city

Zagreb (779,145 inhabitants) is the economic, traffic, cultural, and academic center of the country.

The length of the seashore

5,835.30 km, of which 4,058 km are islands, cliffs, and reefs.

Number of islands, cliffs, and reefs

1185; the largest islands Krk and Cres; 47 inhabited islands.

The highest peak

Dinara 1831 masl


There are three climate zones in Croatia; the interior is dominated by a moderately warm rainy climate and, at the highest peaks, by a cold snow forest climate, while in the area along the Adriatic coast there is a pleasant Mediterranean climate with many sunny days; summers are dry and hot, while winters are mild and humid. The average temperature in the interior: January -2°C to 0°C, and slightly lower at the highest altitudes, in August around 20° C and around 12° C at the highest peaks. The average coastal temperature is between 5 and 9 degrees Celsius in January and August, and 22 to 25 degrees Celsius in August; the sea temperature is 12 degrees Celsius in winter and around 25 degrees Celsius in summer.


The official currency in Croatia is the Kuna (1 Kuna = 100 Lipas). Foreign currency is exchanged in banks, exchange offices, post offices, and most travel agencies, hotels, and camps.